Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education (E4) Award

*Nominations for the Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education (E4) Award are now closed.*

Please take a moment to read AEESP's Conflict of Interest Policy to ensure nominators and/or nominees do not pose a conflict of interest prior to submitting nominations.

The E4 Award will be granted to an educator who has made a significant contribution to the profession in the area of educating practitioners. The award will be jointly administered by AAEES and AEESP and will be bestowed annually at the AAEES Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science (E3) awards banquet. A monetary award of $1,000 with an additional $500 for travel by the award recipient to the annual E3 ceremony will be granted to the winning nominee.

Examples of significant contributions include:

  1. Development of educational material or text that enhances the ability of students to succeed as professional environmental engineers serving as practitioners in roles such as infrastructure design and project leadership.
  2. Demonstration of successful course or curricula development aimed at educating practitioners. Successful deployment of the Environmental Engineering Body of Knowledge concepts.
  3. Creation of unique methods or curricula that challenge and inspire students in the area of environmental engineering practice.
  4. Demonstration of successful student educational outcomes (examples include: letters of support/nomination from former students currently practicing environmental engineering, former students passing PE, former students showing leadership as practitioners, critical projects that former students have led).
  5. Establishment of positive student mentoring relationships or programs.
  6. Contributions to the profession in terms of activity in professional organizations, delivery of lectures, and interaction with public agencies and the consulting community to bridge the gap between university education and environmental engineering practice.
  7. Open to all university faculty teaching environmental engineering.

Nomination packages should include: (1) a brief cover letter from the nominator; (2) brief curriculum vitae (4-page maximum) for the nominee, (3) documentation related directly to the award criteria consisting of no more than 30 pages, (4) one (minimum) to five (maximum) letters of recommendation from current or past students; and (5) one (minimum) to three (maximum) letters of recommendation from faculty, administrator, or industry peers. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during the current nomination period.

*Eligibility: This award is open to all university faculty teaching environmental engineering (not only AAEES or AEESP members).

Click here to submit your nomination.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AEESP Awards Committee:

Dr. Karl Rockne
Program Director, Environmental Engineering Program
National Science Foundation
e-mail: krockne@uic.edu; Tel:703-292-5356

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2021 Lynn Katz
2020 Susan J. Masten
2019 Sarina J. Ergas
2018 Richard Valentine
2017 James Mihelcic
2016 (No award recipient)
2015 Larry Nies
2014 Daniel Oerther
2013 John T. Novak
2012 George Tchobanoglous