Nominations for 2017 Fellows are now closed. Eligible nominees must have a minimum of 10 years of faculty-level membership in AEESP. It is expected that nominees will have achieved full promotion or emeritus status at their respective home institutions.

AEESP Fellows will be selected based on their accomplishments in environmental engineering and science research, teaching and professional service, with emphasis on service within the AEESP. Selection will be for life or the duration of membership within the AEESP.

Self nominations will not be accepted. For future reference, nomination packages must include (i) a letter of nomination and a one-paragraph citation from the nominator who must be an AEESP member, (ii) a full curriculum vitae and one-page statement from the nominee, and (iii) three supporting letters (each a maximum of one page). Nomination and support letters must all be from individuals affiliated with different institutions. Application materials should be submitted electronically as a single pdf file to the Board Secretary (currently Greg Lowry, glowry@cmu.edu) by March 15th. Application materials will be maintained and reevaluated for three consecutive years.

A committee comprising current AEESP Fellows will be responsible for selection of the AEESP Fellows. The committee will submit recommendations on Fellow selection for approval by the AEESP Board of Directors. Although there will be no absolute limit on the number of AEESP Fellows, as a guideline, it is anticipated that the number of Fellows will not exceed five percent of the AEESP faculty membership and that no more than five Fellows will be added in a single year.

Contact: Steve C. Chapra (Tufts University), Chair, Fellows Committee

2016 AEESP Fellows Institution
Joel Burken Missouri University of Science & Technology
Jim Mihelcic University of South Florida
Catherine Peters Princeton University
Mark Rood University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign






2015 AEESP Fellows Institution
Pedro Alvarez Rice University
Cliff Davidson Syracuse University
Nancy Love University of Michigan
Debra Reinhart University of Central Florida
Mark Wiesner Duke University





2014 AEESP Fellows Institution
Paul Bishop University of Rhode Island
Bill Cooper National Science Foundation
Menachem Elimelech Yale University
Gene Parkin University of Iowa



2013 AEESP Fellows Institution
Steven Chapra Tufts University
David Dzombak Carnegie Mellon University
Charles Haas Drexel University
Bruce Logan Penn State University
Susan Powers Clarkson University







*Photos and biographies coming soon!  The page is currently under development.  Please check back at a later date.