AEESP Opens Nominations for 2024 Award and Fellow Recipients

November 1, 2023

Dear Colleagues,


Nominations for 2024 AEESP Awards and Fellows are now open!  Please consider this opportunity to nominate an outstanding student, colleague, or practitioner to be recognized with one of AEESP's highest honors next year.  Unless stated otherwise, Award recipients will be recognized during the annual AEESP Awards Ceremony, to be hosted online on Tuesday, June 18, 2024.  Fellow recipients will be recognized during the 2025 AEESP Research and Education Conference (dates TBD).



The deadline to submit nominations is 11:59 pm ET (U.S.) on January 31, 2024.  All nomination materials must be submitted online.  Full instructions and a list of prior award winners can be found at  The submission link for each award can be found on each specific award webpage.


For reference, nominations are accepted for the following education, research, and practice awards:

  • AEESP Award for Outstanding Contribution to Environmental Engineering & Science Education

  • AEESP Award for Outstanding Teaching in Environmental Engineering & Science

  • AEESP Outstanding Publication Award

  • Charles R. O'Melia AEESP Distinguished Educator Award

  • Walter J. Weber, Jr. AEESP Frontier in Research Award

  • Perry L. McCarty AEESP Founders' Award

  • Steven K. Dentel AEESP Award for Global Outreach

  • The Frederick George Pohland Medal

  • Excellence in Environmental Engineering Education (E4) Award


Nominations are being accepted for the following student awards:

  • *Jacobs Engineering Group / AEESP Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • *Paul V. Roberts / AEESP Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • *Edward J. Bouwer / AEESP Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • AEESP Master's Thesis Awards (two awards)

  • William Brewster Snow Award

  • W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award

  • Paul F. Boulos Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award


*Please note that advisors may only submit one nomination for Doctoral Dissertation awards.  The nomination is automatically considered for the three Doctoral Dissertation awards.



Nominations for 2024 AEESP Fellows are now open through 11:59 pm ET (U.S.) on March 15, 2024.  All nomination materials must be submitted online.  Full instructions and a list of current Fellows can be found at  AEESP Fellows will be selected based on their accomplishments in environmental engineering and science research, teaching and professional service, with emphasis on service within AEESP.  Eligible nominees must have a minimum of 10 years of faculty-level membership in AEESP.  It is expected that nominees will have achieved full promotion or emeritus status at their respective home institutions.  Fellows will be recognized at the AEESP Biennial Research and Education Conference in 2025 (location and date TBD).




Before submitting nominations, the Awards and Fellows Committees encourage everyone to review AEESP's Conflicts of Interest Policy.  In addition, nominators are encouraged to review the submission requirements carefully to prepare the strongest possible nomination package.


Please contact the AEESP Awards Committee Chair, Helen Nguyen (E-mail:, telephone: 217-244-5965) or Fellows Committee Chair Lynn Katz (E-mail:, telephone: 512-471-0071), with any questions.




Debora Frigi Rodrigues, AEESP President
Helen Nguyen, AEESP Awards Committee Chair
Lynn Katz, AEESP Fellows Committee Chair